Chicken Fajitas

Want a quick and easy fajita recipe? I should mention delicious too! Then this is one for you! I don’t remember where I got this recipe from and I have made my own adjustments along the way, but it is definitely a keeper!

Chicken Fajitas

1lb boneless chicken breast, cut into strips
2T vegetable oil
2tsp chili powder
1 1/2tsp cumin (I don’t add this)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/4tsp seasoned salt (I use regular)
1 (15oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilis (Rotel), well drained
1 medium onion, sliced
1/2 red bell pepper
1/2 green bell pepper

ornamhydrangchfajitas 009

400 degree oven.
Place chicken strips in a greased 13×9 baking dish.
ornamhydrangchfajitas 012
In a small bowl combine oil, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, dried oregano, and salt. Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and stir to coat.
ornamhydrangchfajitas 011
ornamhydrangchfajitas 014

Slice peppers and onions and drain tomatoes. I was using things up so this time I used a half of yellow and orange pepper instead of the red and green. Also, you will notice in the picture that I used 2 kinds of onion, not necessary to do this.
ornamhydrangchfajitas 015

Add the tomatoes, peppers, and onions to the mix and stir to combine.
ornamhydrangchfajitas 016

Bake, uncovered, for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender.
ornamhydrangchfajitas 017
ENJOY!

Have a great weekend everyone!
Doris

P.S. I am thinking that tofu could be easily substitued for the chicken in this recipe. What do you think?

I am also thinking that they could work quite well in the homemade pitas that my niece makes. Yum!

Leave a comment